top of page

The 6 Elements of a Great Photo Session

It has been only a year since I’ve immersed myself into the world of Lifestyle Photography but in the brief time that I have been doing this, I have come up with a checklist of what makes for a great photo session based on my past experiences. Maybe the list will grow shorter or longer as I spend a larger amount of time in the industry with more sessions, more clients and much more experience, but for now, here’s what I consider the elements of a great photo session to be. This is in no particular order of importance because I think all these elements work together to create a great photo!

1. Weather

Among the elements I have listed, this is the only one that is out of our control. Everything else can easily be planned and prepared for adequately. Rainy weather is a challenge, but sunny weather can be as much of a challenge as well. The sun creates shadows on a subject’s face that can sometimes be unflattering. Truth be told, cloudy weather creates for a perfect lighting… sometimes. With the rain comes the wind, and in those instances the wind can be a rather disrupting factor too sometimes. However, the optimist and artist in me says ‘bring on the wind’ because it too can also create a bit of art, a bit of magic… with all that havoc!

2. Time of day

As a natural light photographer, I prefer to do shoots when there is still light because natural light can create some stunning photos. Night photography is good too, but it requires the need for artificial lighting, which may not always be ideal for the subject matter. Some shots… and some subjects just respond much better to natural lighting. Some photographers too… are just better with the natural light!

3. Theme

Themes can be simple, they can be complex… they can be what you choose them to be. It can be something as straightforward as an all-white, all-black, elegant, fun, serious, dramatic, or it can be as detailed as spring, winter, summer, fall, Star Wars, Game of Thrones, or whatever other scenario (sport, movie, animated film, theme) you may wish to copy. You can bring in props and think of outfits around your theme. The point is, there has to be one idea that ties everything together so that the shoot will appear well thought-of and coordinated. It is easy to get this wrong especially if you have way too many ideas cluttering your head and that can come across with the way your photos pan out. Pick a theme and stick to it!

4. Location

You’ve heard the saying, “location, location, location”…. More so in the real estate industry than anywhere else. Like real estate though, location is equally important in photography because it helps to create the over-all look of the photos and it contributes strongly to the theme you have chosen. It can be indoor or outdoor, as long as it suits your theme or over-all look you want to achieve.

5. Clothes

You’re doing a photo session, so might as well at least go with your theme or dress as best as you can. For my clients without any theme in mind, I always advise them to wear their best outfit and one that makes them feel good because if you feel good about what you wear, it creates confidence and it shows in the photos. Bright colours are a good idea, especially in the spring/summer when you want to show a happy and joyous theme… the radiance from bright colours reflects on your pictures. Likewise, on a dull day, it negates the poor lighting and surroundings… You could choose to have your subjects change into various outfits during the course of a single shoot… if they are cooperative and willing, it could go a long way in enhancing your pictures and the final output.

6. Attitude

Lastly, all subjects must come with game face on! The right attitude creates beautiful images that will last a lifetime.

I use these and other such pointers when preparing and planning my shoots. As you can see, a lot of thought and effort goes in to it well before you show up in front of my camera. I don’t want to leave anything to chance and given you as my client are paying money for the best possible photos, I don’t want to let you down. So if you want to come experience the best photo shoot with me, and encounter some of these ideas, don’t hesitate to email me for inquiries regarding my rates and to discuss your photography needs. I’ll be happy to give you more information!

Email: happygailephotography@gmail.com


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page